Wright State University
College of Science and Mathematics

Department of Chemistry

202 Oelman Hall
(937) 775-2855
chemistry@wright.edu

 

Current Group Activities

Former Group Activities

Group News and Events:

Group News and Events:

  • Kevin Dorney, First place Award for the Oral Presentation of "Routes to Single-Molecule SERRS-based Detection using Concentrated, Unfunctionalized Silver nanoparticles." at the The 6th Annual Cleveland State Interdisciplinary Research Conference (CSIRC), November 3rd, 2012, Cleveland, OH.
  • C.B. Anders, J. D. Baker, A. C. Stahler, A. Williams, J. N. Sisco, J. C. Trefry, D. P. Wooley, and I. E. Pavel Sizemore, Tangential Flow Ultrafiltration: A “Green” Method for the Size Selection and Concentration of Colloidal Silver Nanoparticles, Journal of Visualized Experiment, e4167, 2012, 1-9.
  • Joshua Baker -Thesis Defense, July 26, 2012, 10:00 AM, 449 Oelman Hall
  • Adam Stahler, Wright State University, 2012 Graduate Student Excellence Award
  • Catherine Anders Wright State University, College of Science and Mathematics (CoSM), 2012 Outstanding GTA Teaching Award

IOana e. pavel Sizemore, ph.d - Former research Members


Visiting Scientist/Faculty


Joan EssonDr. Joan M. Esson

 

Visiting Faculty Member,
Associate professor of Chemistry
Otterbein University, Westerville, Ohio

Email: joan.esson@wright.edu

 

Research interests: Analytical Chemistry, including Raman spectroscopy for the measurement of emerging contaminants, and electrochemical and nanoparticle-based assays for polyionic drugs

 

 

 



Graduate Students


Kevin Dorney Kevin Dorney

 

2014 M.S., Chemistry
Thesis: “A Chemical Free Approach for Increasing the Biochemical Surface-Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy (SERS)-Based Sensing Capabilities of Colloidal Silver Nanoparticles.”

Current Location : Graduate Research and Teaching Assistant at University of Colorado, Boulder.

Email:dorney.3@wright.edu

 

 


Michelle Edwards Michelle Edwards

 

2014 M.S., Chemistry

Thesis: "Stop Cheating!: An Evaluation of a Scientific Integrity Writing Strategy In General Chemistry I"

 

Email: edwards.210@wright.edu

 

 


Jessica Fraley Jessica Fraley

 

M.S. student, Chemistry

 

Email: fraley.34@wright.edu

 

Research interests: Environmental Health and Safety of Nanotechnology


Jessica DagherJessica Dagher

 

M.S. student, Chemistry

 

Email: dagher.2@wright.edu

 

Research interests:environmental chemistry, medicinal chemistry, and toxicology


Cathy AndersCatherine Binns Anders

 

2012 M.S., Chemistry

Thesis: "A SERS and SEM-EDX Study of the Antiviral Mechanism of Creighton Silver Nanoparticles Against Vaccinia Virus"

Current Location: Ph.D. Program in Biomolecular Sciences, Boise State University, Boise, Idaho

Email:anders.3@wright.edu

 


Joshua BakerJoshua Baker

 

2012 M.S. , Chemistry
Thesis: "Near single-molecule SERS–based detection using ultrafiltered, unfunctionalized silver nanoparticles,"

Email:baker.177@wright.edu

 

Research interests: analytical chemistry, microscopy, bio-nanotechnology, nanotoxicology.


Adam StahlerAdam Stahler

 

2012 M.S. , Chemistry

Thesis: "Micro-Raman Imaging and Hyperspectral Analysis of Tibiotarsi from Chick Embryos Exposed to Sublethal Doses of Platinum Group Metals,"

Email: stahler.5@wright.edu

 

Research interests:Raman spectroscopy, analytical chemistry, nanotechnology, biology


Arathi PaluriArathi Sesha L. Paluri

 

2011 M.S., Pharmacology & Toxicology

Thesis: "Synthesis, Characterization and Manipulation of Creighton Silver Nanoparticles for Future Cytotoxicity Studies"

Current Location: Ph.D.student at Wright State University
(supervisor: Dr. Ioana Pavel)

Email: paluri.2@wright.edu

 

 

 

Marjorie MarkopoulosMarjorie Markopoulos

 

2011 M.S., Pharmacology and Toxicology
Non-Thesis: Review Topic Presentation:
"Defining Criteria for Nanotoxicology"

Current Location: Ph.D.student at Wright State University
(supervisor: Dr. Ioana Pavel)

Email:marjorie.markopoulos@wright.edu


Jennifer MonahanJennifer Monahan

 

2010 M.S., Analytical Chemistry
Thesis: "Skeletal Pathology of Tibiotarsi in Chick Embryos Exposed to Platinum Group Metals by Micro-Raman Spectroscopy"

 

Current Location: Ph.D.student at Northeastern University, Boston, MA (supervisor: Dr. Max Diem)

Email:monahan.5@wright.edu


Candra McDonaldCandra McDonald

 

(B.S. in Biology), Grad Prep student

 

Email: candra.mcdonald@wright.edu

 

Research interests: Bio-nanotechnology



Khadijeh AlnajjarKhadijeh S. Alnajjar

 

Laboratory Rotation Member

Ph.D. student, Biomedical Sciences Program

Email:alnajjar.3@wright.edu

Research interests:

 


Todd LewisTodd W. Lewis

 

Laboratory Rotation Member

Ph.D. student, Biomedical Sciences Program

Email:lewis.241@wright.edu)

Research interests:

 


Kelly LeachKelly Leach

 

Laboratory Rotation Member

Ph.D. student, Biomedical Sciences Program

Email:leach.25@wright.edu

Research interests:

 


Nora HunterNora Hunter

 

Laboratory Rotation Member

Ph.D. student, Environmental Chemistry

Email: hunter.29@wright.edu

 


 

 

Undergraduate Students


Tazeen AhmedTazeen Ahmed

 

undergraduate student, Chemistry

 

Email: ahmed.41@wright.edu

 

 

Research interests: Bio-nanotechnology


Trevor BobkaTrevor Bobka

 

2014 B.S., Chemistry

 

Email: bobka.2@wright.edu

 

 

 


Allie MeyerhoeferAllie Meyerhoefer

 

2013 B.S., Earth and Environmental Sciences, Health Sciences Concentration

 

Email: meyerhoefer.3@wright.edu

 

2011 Summer Undergraduate Research/Scholarship Recipient

 

 


Zachery ArnoldZachery Arnold

 

undergraduate student, Chemistry

 

Email: arnold.94@wright.edu

 

Early Acceptance to Wright State University's Boonshoft School of Medicine

 


Diane IragenaDiane Iragena

 

2012 B.S., Chemistry

 

Email: iragena.2@wright.edu

 

Current Location: Wright State University's Boonshoft School of Medicine

 


Tai LamTai Lam

 

2012 B.S., Clinical Laboratory Science

 

Email: lam.5@wright.edu

 

 

 


Austin WilliamsAustin Williams

 

2012 B.S., Clinical Laboratory Science

Department Research Honors Program

 

Email: williams.582@wright.edu

Current Location: Wright State University's Boonshoft School of Medicine

 


Alice ChangAlice Chang

 

2012 B.S., Chemistry

 

Email:chang.7@wright.edu

Website:

 

Research interests: nanotechnology


julielyNiyogushima Juliely

 

undergraduate student, Chemistry Summer Research Intern

Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, North Carolina

 

2012 STREAMS - 2012 Scholars Program Awardee

 

Research interests: Chemistry with focus on nanotechology/nanoparticles


Kent WeaverKent Weaver

 

undergraduate student, Physics Eng. and Chemistry

 

Email: weaver.99@wright.edu

Website:

 

Research interests: research and development of current technology


 

Garrett Dean Case

 

 

Current Location: Wright State University, Biomedical Engineering

E-mail: case.26@wright.edu

Research interests: bio-nanotechnology

 


 

Jerry K. Lawson

 

 

Current Location: Wright State University, College of Science and Mathematics

E-mail:lawson.71@wright.edu

Research interests: Analytical Chemistry

 


 

 

3640 Colonel Glenn Highway - Dayton, Ohio - 45435
Wright State University biplane logo
Copyright Information © 2014 | Accessibility Information
Last updated: Wed. Oct-01-14, 16:22
Please send comments to: webmaster@wright.edu